Reminder of Existing Visa Waiver Program and ESTA Regulations

The U.S. Embassy, Vienna, would like to remind all travelers to the U.S. that the Electronic System for Travel Authorizations (ESTA) and Visa Waiver Program regulations that were introduced in January 2016 are currently still in effect and must be followed.
Please note that the following travelers will need a visa to travel to the U.S.:

• Travelers whose registration has been denied under ESTA and those whose ESTA travel authorization has been revoked by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and who received e-mail notification about the revocation.

• Nationals of Visa Waiver Program countries, such as Austria, who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan and Syria. Beginning January 21, 2016, ESTA was revoked for travelers who had valid ESTAs and who previously indicated holding dual nationality with one of the four countries listed above on their ESTA applications.

• Nationals of all Visa Waiver Program countries, such as Austria, who have traveled to Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Syria, Somalia, Yemen and Libya anytime on or after March 1, 2011. The law includes exemptions for military personnel and full-time government employees of program countries traveling to one of those countries in their official capacity.

Such individuals may apply for a visa as needed at a U.S. Embassy or Consulate. Detailed visa information and possible exemptions can be found at under: The Visa Waiver Progam & ESTA.

Current ESTA holders are encouraged to check their ESTA status prior to travel on U.S. Customs and Border Protection’s (CBP) website at